Denning takes Weedon Memorial

Denning takes Weedon Memorial

DAVENPORT, Ia. (August 13, 2021) – With over one hundred and twenty cars in the pit area, it was a full night of racing for the Ronnie Weedon Memorial, at the Davenport Speedway. When the final checkered flag flew, Travis Denning of Sterling, Illinois added his name to the list of Weedon Memorial winners.

Denning started tenth, but quickly moved up through the pack, taking the lead on lap five. Travis continued his blistering pace building up a half-lap lead on the field. At the checkers, Denning had nearly a ten second lead on second place finisher Chris Zogg.

Zogg had started thirteenth and drove to second. Third went to Austin Blume who started 14th. Joe Beal ran in the top five all race before taking a fourth place finish. Mitch Morris came from 21st starting spot to round out the top five.

Thirty-two Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds took part in the 2021 Weedon Memorial. Heat race wins went to Beal, Matt Werner, Spencer Diercks, and Kyle Montgomery. Zogg and Blume won the B-Mains.

Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action, Matt Ryan must consider “déjà vu” to be a four-letter word. Countless times he has been leading late in the race only to have Justin Kay snatch the victory away. It happened again on Friday. Ryan grabbed the lead on lap five of the twenty-five lap main. Kay started eleventh and moved into second on lap fifteen.

In heavy lapped traffic Justin chased down Ryan and made the last lap pass for the win. Logan Duffy, Nick Marolf, and Chuck Hanna rounded out the top five in that order.

Tyler Soppe took the win in the IMCA SportMod feature. Soppe had to fend off Ben Chapman and Ryan Walker in a green, white, checkered ending. Behind Chapman and Walker, Trey Grimm finished fourth, just ahead of Austin Stamm.

Nick Hixson captured the win in Koehler Electric Street Stocks. Hixson passed Tony VonDresky on lap seven enroute to the win. Jeff Struck Jr. finished third. Donnie Louck and Joe Zrostlik were fourth and fifth respectively.

Josh Riley dominated the Sport Compact feature. Riley started seventh, but was second after one lap and in the lead on lap two. Riley led the rest of the way to the checkers. Cyle Hawkins closed late to finish second. Cody Montgomery finished third, ahead of Josh Starr and Todd Sibley.

The Nostalgic Stock Car Racing Club made an appearance Friday. Ray Guss Jr. roared through the field to score the feature win. Terry Mattly recovered from a mid-race incident to finish second, ahead of Andrew Hamburg.

Next Friday, August 20th, will be Season Championships at Davenport Speedway. Track titles will be determined in all five weekly classes. August 26-28, the World of Outlaw Late Models will invade the Davenport Speedway. Three big nights of racing will also feature IMCA Modifieds and IMCA SportMods.


Davenport Speedway

August 13, 2021 –

Ronnie Weedon Memorial - IMCA Modifieds

Heat #1: 1. Joe Beal; 2. Bob Dominacki; 3. Charlie Mohr; 4. Chris Lawrence; 5. Chris Zogg;

Heat #2: 1. Matt Werner; 2. Jake Morris; 3. Kurt Kile; 4. Josh Starr; 5. Matt Stein;

Heat #3: 1. Spencer Diercks; 2. Doug Lenth; 3. Brad Dierks; 4. Ryan Duhme; 5. Terry Rentfro;

Heat #4: 1. Kyle Montgomery; 2. Travis Denning; 3. Craig Crawford; 4. Mike Goben; 5. Jason Pershy;

Semi #1: 1. Chris Zogg; 2. Ryan Duhme; 3. Terry Rentfro; 4. Chris Lawrence; 5. Mitch Morris;

Semi #2: 1. Austin Blume; 2. Eric Barnes; 3. Jason Pershy; 4. Dustin Smith; 5. Mike Goben;

Feature: 1. Travis Denning; 2. Chris Zogg; 3. Austin Blume; 4. Joe Beal; 5. Mitch Morris; 6. Ryan Duhme; 7. Craig Crawford; 8. Terry Rentfro; 9. Eric Barnes; 10. Kurt Kile; 11. Brandon Durbin; 12. Charlie Mohr; 13. Matt Werner; 14. Brad Dierks; 15. Jason Pershy; 16. Spencer Diercks; 17. Mike Goben; 18. Kyle Montgomery; 19. Dustin Smith; 20. Doug Lenth; 21. Bob Dominacki; 22. Josh Starr; 23. Chris Lawrence; 24. Jake Morris;

IMCA Late Models

Heat #1: 1. Nick Marolf; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Chuck Hanna; 4. Kelly Pestka; 5. Dave Stichter;

Heat #2: 1. Matt Ryan; 2. Fred Remley; 3. Jeff Tharp; 4. Brian Webb; 5. Don Pastaka;

Heat #3: 1. Andy Nezworski; 2. Logan Duffy; 3. Gary Webb; 4. Shawn Mulvany; 5. Lake Knutti;

Feature: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Matt Ryan; 3. Logan Duffy; 4. Nick Marolf; 5. Chuck Hanna; 6. Fred Remley; 7. Andy Nezworski; 8. Jeff Tharp; 9. Bryan Moreland; 10. Shawn Mulvany; 11. Gary Webb; 12. Brian Webb; 13. Dave Stichter; 14. Colton Leal; 15. Todd Van Tassel; 16. Don Pataska; 17. Brandon Leverington; 18. Lake Knutti; 19. Kelly Pestka; 20. Dave Hammond; 21. LeRoy Brenner; 22. Matt Claeys; 23. Kevin Miller; (1-DNS)

IMCA SportMod

Heat #1: 1. Ryan Walker; 2. Ben Chapman; 3. Barry Bates; 4. Austin Stamm; 5. Rayce Mullen;

Heat #2: 1. Tyler Soppe; 2. Jarrett Franzen; 3. Perry Gellerstedt; 4. Henry Carson; 5. Randy Farrell;

Heat #3: 1. Brandon Jewell; 2. Trey Grimm; 3. Kasey Williams; 4. Dan Kessler; 5. Anthony Franklin;

Feature: 1. Tyler Soppe; 2. Ben Chapman; 3. Ryan Walker; 4. Trey Grimm; 5. Austin Stamm; 6. Brandon Jewell; 7. Kasey Williams; 8. Perry Gellerstedt; 9. Barry Bates; 10. Jarett Franzen; 11. Kevin Goben; 12. Brad Salisberry; 13. Randy Farrell; 14. Todd Dykema; 15. Levi Heath; 16. Rayce Mullen; 17. Henry Carson; 18. Dan Kessler; 19. Cody Scherer; 20. Logan Veloz; 21. Jacob Lenth; (3-DNS)

Street Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Tony VonDresky; 2. Joe Zrostlik; 3. Shawn McDermott; 4. Frank Waters; 5. Kori Murphy;

Heat #2: 1. Jeff Struck Jr.; 2. Jake Lund; 3. Donnie Louck; 4. Jesse Owen; 5. Nick Hixson;

Feature: 1. Nick Hixson; 2. Tony VonDresky; 3. Jeff Struck Jr.; 4. Donnie Louck; 5. Joe Zrostlik; 6. Jesse Owen; 7. Jake Lund; 8. Shawn McDermott; 9. Frank Waters; 10. Trevor Tucker; 11. Austin Riggs; 12. Shad Murphy; 13. Kori Murphy; 14. Jason Bielema; 15. Robert Sherbonda; (1-DNS)

Sport Compacts

Heat #1: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Todd Sibley; 3. Cody VanDusen; 4. Tim Sibley; 5. Drew Wise;

Heat #2: 1. Josh Riley; 2. Cody Montgomery; 3. Jason Rhoads; 4. Josh Lane; 5. Josh Starr;

Feature: 1. Josh Riley; 2. Cyle Hawkins; 3. Cody Montgomery; 4. Josh Starr; 5. Todd Sibley; 6. Cody VanDusen; 7. Jason Rhoads; 8. Josh Lane; 9. Drew Wise; 10. Aaron Hitt; 11. Tim Sibley;


Heat #1: 1. Matthew Hirst; 2. Ray Guss Jr.; 3. Jeff Walker; 4. Andrew Hamburg; 5. Duke Fulton;

Heat #2: 1. Terry Mattly; 2. Mark Claeys; 3. Cruz Birkhofer; 4. Pat Tuttle; 5. Jeff Snyder;

Feature: 1. Ray Guss Jr.; 2. Terry Mattly; 3. Andrew Hamburg; 4. Mark Claeys; 5. Jeff Walker; 6. Jeff Snyder; 7. Pat Tuttle; 8. Austin Honts; 9. Matthew Hirst; 10. Duke Fulton; 11. Cruz Birkhofer; 12. Zane Zimmerman; 13. Brian Ashmore; 14. Craig Adams;

Driver Registration


Davenport Speedway8/28/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA


Petersen Plumbing IMCA Late Modelsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifiedsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
IMCA SportModsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
Koehler Electric Street Stocksas of 8/20/2021
Full Points Sport Compactsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points


Petersen Plumbing
QC Jeeps
Hoker Trucking
JRs Place
KOEHLER Electric
Theater Co
Quad City Peterbilt
Concrete Services Placing
Eriksen Chevrolet
Rock Auto
Craftsmen Utility Trailer
HD Equipment
C  J Trucking of Iowa
American Family Insurance - Jared Bennett
Lindquist Ford

Latest Photos