Moran takes opening night at Quad Cities 150

Moran takes opening night at Quad Cities 150

DAVENPORT, Ia. (August 26, 2021) – Night one of the Quad Cities 150 presented by Hoker Trucking is in the books. To say the least, the racing was intense.

It didn’t take long for the World of Outlaw Late Models to racthet up the intensity. On the opening lap of late model qualifying, Brandon Sheppard set a new track record with a lap of 13.588 seconds.

At the start of the 40-lap, $10,000-to-win feature, Chris Madden and Devin Moran made up the front row. Moran led the first circuit. Madden led the second. Then Moran reeled off the next 38 laps for the win.

Bobby Pierce started fourth and quickly moved upto second. Pierce got within striking distance several times, but was unable to pull the trigger on a winning pass. Frank Heckenast and Shannon Babb finished third and fourth respectively, while Nick Hoffman rounded out the top five.

Late Model heat race wins went to Pierce, Moran, Madden, and Cade Dillard. Last chance races were won by Dennis Erb and Garrett Alberson. Thirty-eight late model entries were in the pits for Thursday’s race.

With the victory, Devin Moran not only has bragging rights among his fellow drivers, until the next race. He also has bragging rights in his own family. Devin’s father Donnie’s best finish at Davenport Speedway was a second place in a Stacker2 Extreme Late Model event in 2004.

Jordan Hicks went flag-to-flag for the victory in IMCA Modified action. While Hicks was leading, Tim Ward and Mitch Morris were locked in a serious battle for second position. After swapping the spot several times, Ward finally came away with second. Morris was a close third, with Mike McKinney fourth and Brad Dierks fifth.

Logan Veloz captured the win in the IMCA SportMods. Veloz started on the outside pole and fell back to third before rallying to take the lead on lap six. Veloz led the remaining laps, holding off Brandon Jewell and early race leader Jimmy Broszeit. Broszeit finished second, ahead of Jewell. Todd Dykema was fourth, followed by Ben Chapman.

The World of Outlaw Late Models return to Davenport Speedway Friday & Saturday. Saturday’s 70-lap main event will pay $30,000-to-win. Modifieds and SportMods will also be racing each night.


Davenport Speedway August 26, 2021 –

World of Outlaw Late Models

Qualifying: Brandon Sheppard 13.588 seconds (a new track record)

Heat #1: 1. Bobby Pierce; 2. Brandon Sheppard; 3. Brian Shirley; 4. Jason Feger; 5. Jeremiah Hurst;

Heat #2: 1. Devin Moran; 2. Nick Hoffman; 3. Jimmy Mars; 4. Chad Simpson; 5. Tyler Bruening;

Heat #3: 1. Chris Madden; 2. Frank Heckenast; 3. Ryan Gustin; 4. Brent Larson; 5. Garrett Alberson;

Heat #4: 1. Cade Dillard; 2. Shannon Babb; 3. Chris Simpson; 4. Billy Moyer; 5. Jake Timm;

Semi 1: 1. Dennis Erb; 2. Tyler Bruening; 3. Boom Briggs; 4. Jeremiah Hurst; 5. Todd Cooney;

Semi 2: 1. Garrett Alberson; 2. Spencer Diercks; 3. Jake Timm; 4. Brian Harris; 5. Daniel Hilsabeck;

Feature: 1. Devin Moran; 2. Bobby Pierce; 3. Frank Heckenast; 4. Shannon Babb; 5. Nick Hoffman; 6. Cade Dillard; 7. Brandon Sheppard; 8. Jimmy Mars; 9. Boom Briggs; 10. Chris Madden; 11. Dennis Erb; 12. Jeremiah Hurst; 13. Ricky Weiss; 14. Tyler Bruening; 15. Chris Simpson; 16. Brian Shirley; 17. Garrett Alberson; 18. Jake Timm; 19. Jason Feger; 20. Brent Larson; 21. Billy Moyer; 22. Spencer Diercks; 23. Ryan Gustin; 24. Chad Simpson;

IMCA Modifieds

Heat #1: 1. Bryce Garnhart; 2. Jordan Hicks; 3. Mike McKinney; 4. Jeff Aikey; 5. Dustin Smith;

Heat #2: 1. Chris Zogg; 2. Mitch Morris; 3. Austin Blume; 4. Timmy Current; 5. Derrick Stewart;

Heat #3: 1. Tom Berry Jr.; 2. Brad Dierks; 3. Tim Ward; 4. Matt Werner; 5. Mike Goben;

Semi #1: 1. Chris Simpson; 2. Chris Lawrence; 3. Jeremy Gustaf; 4. Joe Beal; 5. Travis Denning;

Feature: 1. Jordan Hicks; 2. Tim Ward; 3. Mitch Morris; 4. Mike McKinney; 5. Brad Dierks ; 6. Travis Denning; 7. Bryce Garnhart; 8. Jeff Aikey; 9. Chris Zogg; 10. Austin Blume; 11. Mike Goben; 12. Derrick Stewart; 13. Milo Veloz; 14. Charlie Mohr; 15. Jeremy Gustaf; 16. Bob Dominacki; 17. Kory Meyer; 18. Matt Werner; 19. Chris Simpson; 20. Chris Lawrence; 21. Timmy Current; 22. Tom Berry Jr.; 23. Dustin Smith; 24. Joe Beal; (6-DNQ)

IMCA SportMod

Heat #1: 1. Ben Chapman; 2. Todd Dykema; 3. Nathan Balensiefen; 4. Brandon Jewell; 5. Kevin Goben;

Heat #2: 1. Aaron Hitt; 2. Anthony Franklin; 3. Jimmy Broszeit; 4. Rayce Mullen; 5. Brad Salisberry;

Heat #3: 1. Shane Paris; 2. Logan Veloz; 3. Perry Gellerstedt; 4. Kevin Rasdon; 5. Tony Kraklio;

Feature: 1. Logan Veloz; 2. Jimmy Broszeit; 3. Brandon Jewell; 4. Todd Dykema; 5. Ben Chapman; 6. Shane Paris; 7. Nathan Balensiefen; 8. Ryan Reed; 9. Kevin Goben; 10. Anthony Franklin; 11. Aaron Hitt; 12. Matthew Roehl; 13. Brad Salisberry; 14. Kevin Rasdon; 15. Jacob Lenth; 16. Cole Stichter; 17. Erick Turner; 18. Jason Riegel; 19. Rayce Mullen; 20. Tony Kraklio; 21. Perry Gellerstedt; 22. Bryan Ritter; (3-DNS)

Driver Registration


Davenport Speedway8/28/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021IMCA SportMods
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA


Petersen Plumbing IMCA Late Modelsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifiedsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
IMCA SportModsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
Koehler Electric Street Stocksas of 8/20/2021
Full Points Sport Compactsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points


Petersen Plumbing
QC Jeeps
Hoker Trucking
JRs Place
KOEHLER Electric
Theater Co
Quad City Peterbilt
Concrete Services Placing
Eriksen Chevrolet
Rock Auto
Craftsmen Utility Trailer
HD Equipment
C  J Trucking of Iowa
American Family Insurance - Jared Bennett
Lindquist Ford

Latest Photos