Hahne gets first Hoker East Series win in Governor’s Cup Thriller at Davenport

Hahne gets first Hoker East Series win in Governor’s Cup Thriller at Davenport

By Anthony Ainslie (Davenport, IA) -- One of the wildest races of the year for the Haulin’ with Hoker Trucking Super Late Models East Series went down Saturday in the 2021 Iowa Governor’s Cup at Davenport Speedway.

After the previous race at West Liberty Raceway rained out on Friday, the East Series moved to the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds at Davenport, Iowa for the Iowa Governor’s Cup. A field of 28 cars made the trip to Davenport for a chance to add their name to the list of winners of the Cup.


At the start of the 40-lap main event, Jason Hahne and Charlie McKenna brought the field to the green flag from the front row. McKenna took advantage of his outside-front row starting spot and took the lead. As McKenna led, Jason Hahne and Justin Kay battled for second while Jake Neal and Tyler Bruening battled for the fourth position.

As the race progressed, McKenna led while Kay and Hahne caught up to him, and the trio exchanged the lead. While they went at it, Bruening and Neal closed in on them and made it a wild five-car battle for the race lead.

Hahne made the go ahead move for the lead with only 11 laps remaining as he made the pass on Justin Kay as they came off turn two. Kay, the series points leader, battled all he could, but Hahne had just enough to stay up front.

Hahne scored his first ever Haulin’ with Hoker Trucking East Series win of his career. The Webster City, Iowa native’s win also makes him the 18th different
feature winner between the East and West series, the 41st all-time series winner, and the 21st different winner of the Iowa Governor’s Cup. Justin Kay came home in second while Tyler Bruening finished second. Jake Neal and Charlie McKenna rounded out the top five.

With the Iowa tripleheader weekend, the Haulin’ with Hoker Trucking East Series joins back up with the Malvern Bank West Series for the tours’ championship weekend at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska on October 1st and 2nd.


Hoker Trucking A Feature 1 (40 Laps): 1. 76H-Jason Hahne[1]; 2. 15K-Justin Kay[7]; 3. 16-Tyler Bruening[6]; 4. 1-Jake Neal[3]; 5. 22C-Charlie McKenna[2]; 6. 58-Dave Eckrich[4]; 7. 56-Andy Eckrich[5]; 8. 33-Nick Marolf[9]; 9. 07-Matt Ryan[8]; 10. 14-Logan Duffy[10]; 11. 32C-Chad Holladay[12]; 12. 44-Luke Goedert[13]; 13. 99-Brian Harris[19]; 14. 10T-Jeff Tharp[15]; 15. 56W-Gary Webb[20]; 16. 15C-Curt Schroeder[17]; 17. 99D-Darrel DeFrance[18]; 18. 40-Joel Callahan[11]; 19. 44W-David Webster[14]; 20. 17-Kirby Schultz[21]; 21. 93-Jay Johnson[16]; 22. 12-Ron Klein[22]

Predator Custom Trailers B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 15C-Curt Schroeder[1]; 2. 99D-Darrel DeFrance[2]; 3. 99-Brian Harris[4]; 4. 56W-Gary Webb[6]; 5. 12-Ron Klein[3]; 6. 17-Kirby Schultz[9]; 7. 01-CJ Horn[7]; 8. 5-Rusty Patterson[8]; 9. 72-Dave Hammond[10]; 10. 70-Shawn Mulvany[5]; 11. 42-Fred Remley[11]; 12. 1H-Mike Haines[12]

Speedway Motors Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1-Jake Neal[6]; 2. 56-Andy Eckrich[5]; 3. 33-Nick Marolf[4]; 4. 93-Jay Johnson[3]; 5. 99-Brian Harris[2]; 6. 01-CJ Horn[1]; 7. 17-Kirby Schultz[7]

Keyser Manufacturing Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 40-Joel Callahan[2]; 2. 15K-Justin Kay[4]; 3. 99D-Darrel DeFrance[1]; 4. 15C-Curt Schroeder[3]; 5. 44-Luke Goedert[5]; 6. 32C-Chad Holladay[6]; 7. 72-Dave Hammond[7]

Dynamic Drivelines Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 16-Tyler Bruening[6]; 2. 44W-David Webster[2]; 3. 58-Dave Eckrich[5]; 4. 56W-Gary Webb[1]; 5. 10T-Jeff Tharp[4]; 6. 12-Ron Klein[3]; 7. 42-Fred Remley[7]

Dynamic Drivelines Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 07-Matt Ryan[3]; 2. 22C-Charlie McKenna[5]; 3. 14-Logan Duffy[4]; 4. 76H-Jason Hahne[6]; 5. 70-Shawn Mulvany[2]; 6. 5-Rusty Patterson[1]; 7. 1H-Mike Haines[7]

Qualifying A: 1. 1-Jake Neal, 00:14.342[8]; 2. 32C-Chad Holladay, 00:14.395[1]; 3. 56-Andy Eckrich, 00:14.588[6]; 4. 44-Luke Goedert, 00:14.636[11]; 5. 33-Nick Marolf, 00:14.725[2]; 6. 15K-Justin Kay, 00:14.900[14]; 7. 93-Jay Johnson, 00:15.088[4]; 8. 15C-Curt Schroeder, 00:15.180[3]; 9. 99-Brian Harris, 00:15.263[9]; 10. 40-Joel Callahan, 00:15.270[13]; 11. 01-CJ Horn, 00:15.539[10]; 12. 99D-Darrel DeFrance, 00:15.617[5]; 13. 17-Kirby Schultz, 00:15.691[7]; 14. 72-Dave Hammond, 00:15.942[12]

Qualifying B: 1. 16-Tyler Bruening, 00:14.230[11]; 2. 76H-Jason Hahne, 00:14.717[1]; 3. 58-Dave Eckrich, 00:14.753[4]; 4. 22C-Charlie McKenna, 00:14.899[14]; 5. 10T-Jeff Tharp, 00:14.925[2]; 6. 14-Logan Duffy, 00:14.934[10]; 7. 12-Ron Klein, 00:14.948[5]; 8. 07-Matt Ryan, 00:15.052[8]; 9. 44W-David Webster, 00:15.236[6]; 10. 70-Shawn Mulvany, 00:15.280[7]; 11. 56W-Gary Webb, 00:15.708[13]; 12. 5-Rusty Patterson, 00:15.826[12]; 13. 42-Fred Remley, 00:24.677[3]; 14. 1H-Mike Haines, 00:24.677[9]

Driver Registration


Davenport Speedway8/28/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021A Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/28/2021B Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021A Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/27/2021B Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021Dirt Super Late Models
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021A Modifieds
Full Results
Davenport Speedway8/26/2021B Modifieds
Full Results


Petersen Plumbing IMCA Late Modelsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
Koehler Electric Street Stocksas of 8/20/2021
Full Points Sport Compactsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
A Modifiedsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points
B Modifiedsas of 8/20/2021
Full Points


Petersen Plumbing
QC Jeeps
Hoker Trucking
JRs Place
KOEHLER Electric
Theater Co
Quad City Peterbilt
Concrete Services Placing
Eriksen Chevrolet
Rock Auto
Craftsmen Utility Trailer
HD Equipment
C  J Trucking of Iowa
American Family Insurance - Jared Bennett
Lindquist Ford

Latest Photos