Davenport Speedway

  • 1
Thanks for the memories!

Thanks for the memories!

The season is over.

Struck strikes it rich in Davenport Street Stocks


Davenport Speedway

Struck strikes it rich in Davenport Street Stocks

DAVENPORT, Ia. (August 28, 2020) – The final event for K Promotions at Davenport Speedway in 2020, was an exciting one, with close finishes and intense racing action. The main event of the evening was the Koehler Electric Street Stocks running a twenty-five lap feature for a $1,000 top prize. When the checkers flew for the final time, Jeff Struck Jr. stood in the Hoker Trucking Victory Lane.

Pole sitter Joe Zrostlik led lap one, but the caution flag waved off lap two. On the restart, seventh place starter Struck pulled into the lead and slowly started to pull away from the field. The race’s final caution came out at lap 23, setting up a two lap shootout for the win.

Struck held serve on the restart to take the win. Tony VonDresky started ninth and finished second. Zrostlik held on for third. Robert Cottom and Jesse Owen completed the first five.

It took all twenty-five laps for Justin Kay to pass Matt Ryan for the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature win. Ryan jumped out to the lead of the main after starting on the outside pole. Kay got inside the leader several time but could not pass as the track slicked off. In the final laps, lapped traffic came into play. Coming to the checkers Kay dove low coming out of turn and was first to the finish line. Chuck Hanna took third, ahead of Joe Ross and Gary Webb.

The Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds had an exciting photo finish as Spencer Diercks edged out Dylan Thorton of California. Diercks took the lead of the race after a lap two restart and built out a sizeable lead. Thorton tracked the leader down. Coming out of the final corner, the two leaders banged wheels with Diercks taking the win by millimeters. Matt Werner, Mitch Morris, and Tim Simpson rounded out the top five. Only six cars completed the twenty laps.

Cam Reimers made the long haul from Ogden, Iowa pay off, with a win in the IMCA SportMod main. Reimers grabbed the lead from the pole with Tyler Soppe in close pursuit. Several laps later, Soppe slipped off the top of a turn and fell back into the pack. While Reimers had a comfortable lead, there was a scramble for the next four spots. Brandon Jewell made a late race surge on the high side to finish second. Ben Chapman took third. Jeremy Gustaf and Anthony Franklin were fourth and fifth respectively.

The QCjeeps.com Sport Compact feature was won by Travis Hawkins. Hawkins led the first nine laps before allowing Cris Courson to get past him. Hawkins ran Courson down and powered his way back into the lead and taking the win. Courson finished second ahead of Cyle Hawkins in third. Fourth was Tim Sibley and Josh Riley fifth.

K Promotions would like to thank all our competitors, the crews, and our fans, for their support of the Davenport Speedway, during this chaotic year. Stay well and we hope to see you all again next season.


Davenport Speedway

August 28, 2020 –

Street Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Jesse Owen; 2. Gene Ehlers; 3. Jeff Struck Jr.; 4. Jeffery Peterson; 5. Erick Turner;

Heat #2: 1. Robert Cottom; 2. Joe Bonney; 3. Nick Proehl; 4. Chase Zaruba; 5. Tom Riggs;

Heat #3: 1. Tony VonDresky; 2. Joe Zrostlik; 3. Austin Riggs; 4. Jacob Beal; 5. Nick Claussen;

Feature: 1. Jeff Struck Jr.; 2. Tony VonDresky; 3. Joe Zrostlik; 4. Robert Cottom; 5. Jesse Owen; 6. Jeffrey Peterson; 7. Joe Bonney; 8. Frank Waters; 9. Erick Turner; 10. Phillip Schneider; 11. Chase Zaruba; 12. Nick Claussen; 13. Jim Parr; 14. Veronica Anderson; 15. Gene Ehlers; 16. Nick Proehl; 17. Austin Riggs; 18. Rick Schriner; 19. Jacob Beal; 20. Tom Riggs; 21. Jake Gustaf; 22. Alex Pappas; (2-DNS)

IMCA Late Models

Heat #1: 1. Chuck Hanna; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Gary Webb; 4. Matt Ryan; 5. Ryan Claeys;

Feature: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Matt Ryan; 3. Chuck Hanna; 4. Joe Ross; 5. Gary Webb; 6. Jacob Waterman; 7. Ryan Claeys; 8. Colton Leal;


Heat #1: 1. Matt Werner; 2. Dylan Thorton; 3. Jason Pershy; 4. Tim Simpson; 5. Chris Lawrence;

Heat #2: 1. Spencer Diercks; 2. Mitch Morris; 3. Chris Zogg; 4. Mike Goben; 5. Joe Beal;

Feature: 1. Spencer Diercks; 2. Dylan Thorton; 3. Matt Werner; 4. Mitch Morris; 5. Tim Simpson; 6. Bob Dominacki; 7. Mike Goben; 8. Chris Zogg; 9. Matt Stein; 10. Chris Lawrence; 11. Nick Hillyer; 12. Joe Beal; 13. Jason Pershy;

IMCA SportMod

Heat #1: 1. Perry Gellerstedt; 2. Anthony Franklin; 3. Cam Reimers; 4. Brandon Jewell; 5. Randy Farrell;

Heat #2: 1. Ben Chapman; 2. Tyler Soppe; 3. Jeremy Gustaf; 4. Kevin Goben; 5. Trey Grimm;

Feature: 1. Cam Reimers; 2. Brandon Jewell; 3. Ben Chapman; 4. Jeremy Gustaf; 5. Anthony Franklin; 6. Tyler Soppe; 7. Kevin Goben; 8. Trey Grimm; 9. Randy Farrell; 10. Levi Heath; 11. Perry Gellerstedt; 12. Aaron Hitt; 13. Andrew Francis; 14. Henry Carson; 15. Chris Dunn;

Sport Compacts

Heat #1: 1. Tim Sibley; 2. Josh Riley; 3. Codie Proehl; 4. Cris Courson; 5. Travis Hawkins;

Heat #2: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Todd Sibley; 3. Jack Fitzgibbon; 4. Shawn McDermott; 5. Brad McDermott;

Feature: 1. Travis Hawkins; 2. Cris Courson; 3. Cyle Hawkins; 4. Tim Sibley; 5. Josh Riley; 6. Todd Sibley; 7. Jack Fitzgibbon; 8. Shawn McDermott; 9. Adam Gates; 10. Brad McDermott; 11. Todd Hines; 12. William McPherson; (2-DNS)

Article Credit: Mike McGuire

Submitted By: Derek Collum

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

May Races Update
Happy Fathers Day
Petersen Plumbing
QC Jeeps
Hoker Trucking
JRs Place
KOEHLER Electric
Eriksen Chevrolet
Craftsmen Utility Trailer
HD Equipment
C  J Trucking of Iowa
Lindquist Ford
Halabuilt Engines
Hawkins Construction and Trucking
Grask Truck Group
No Place Special
Pit Crew BBQ
Tyler Matzen