Davenport Speedway

  • 1
Thanks for the memories!

Thanks for the memories!

The season is over.

Ryan, Werner, and Gustaf take IMCA wins at Davenport


Davenport Speedway

Ryan, Werner, and Gustaf take IMCA wins at Davenport

DAVENPORT, Ia. (April 30, 2021) – Davenport Speedway put the wraps on the month of April with a busy night of racing. One hundred and twelve cars were on hand to do battle with the action-packed quarter-mile oval.

Matt Ryan scored his first Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature win of the season. Joe Ross held the early race lead after starting on the pole. Ryan passed Ross on lap eight and led the rest of the distance. Twelveth place starter Justin Kay tracked down Ryan but was not able to make a pass for the win. Fred Remley started third and finished third. Jacob Waterman and Andy Nezworski rounded out the top five.

Ryan, Kay, and Chuck Hanna were late model heat winners.

The Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds put on an impressive show in their feature. At the front was Matt Werner, scoring his first Davenport win of the season. Werner started seventh in the twenty-lap main. Once Matt got his car to the top of the racetrack, he drove straight to the front, passing Eric Barnes on lap eight.

Werner led the last twelve laps, finishing a full straightway ahead of Barnes at the checkers. Barnes finished ahead of Ryan Duhme. Mike Garland, and Rod McDonald.

Jeremy Gustaf held off Tyler Soppe and Ben Chapman to win the IMCA SportMod feature. Gustaf grabbed the feature lead on lap three and used the bottom groove to hang on for the win. Soppe was riding the high side, but could only get the runner-up position. Chapman, Logan Veloz, and Jacob Arp finished third through fifth, in that order.

Nick Hixson visited victory lane in Koehler Electric Street Stock action. Hixson took the lead of the race on lap three but could not drive away from Jeff Struck, who had his car sailing around the high side. Struck took the lead briefly on lap ten. But Hixson came roaring back on the next lap and led the remaining laps. Struck would hold on to second, with Tony VonDresky third. Cary Brown and Nick Claussen finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The QCjeeps.com Sport Compact feature quickly boiled down to a two-car battle between Josh Riley and Cyle Hawkins. Riley led the first two circuits, before Hawkins slid by on lap three. Cyle led the rest of the way to the checkers with Riley right behind. Tim Sibley held off Todd Sibley for third. Brandon Schneider rounded out the top five.

The racing action continues at Davenport Speedway, Friday, May 7th. All five weekly classes will be competing. Late Models will use a draw/re-draw format and their feature will pay $1,000-to-win.

Results: Davenport Speedway

April 30, 2021 –

IMCA Late Models

Heat #1: 1. Matt Ryan; 2. Andy Nezworski; 3. Joe Ross; 4. Joe Zrostlik; 5. Dave Stichter;

Heat #2: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Fred Remeley; 3. Bryan Moreland; 4. BJ Jackson; 5. Ryan Claeys;

Heat #3: 1. Chuck Hanna; 2. Jacob Waterman; 3. Don Pataska; 4. Kelly Pestka; 5. LeRoy Brenner;

Feature: 1. Matt Ryan; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Fred Remley; 4. Jacob Waterman; 5. Andy Nezworski; 6. Joe Ross; 7. Joe Zrostlik; 8. Chuck Hanna; 9. Don Pataska; 10. Dave Stichter; 11. Bryan Moreland; 12. Shawn Mulvany; 13. Todd VanTassel; 14. BJ Jackson; 15. Ryan Claeys; 16. Colton Leal; 17. Tom Pestka; 18. Kelly Pestka; 19. LeRoy Brenner; 20. Frank Mason; 21. Anthony Haines;

IMCA Modifieds

Heat #1: 1. Mike Garland; 2. Mitch Morris; 3. Jordan Hicks; 4. Ryan Duhme; 5. Matt Stein;

Heat #2: 1. Bob Dominacki; 2. Timmy Current; 3. Matt Werner; 4. Kyle Montgomery; 5. Jeff Larson;

Heat #3: 1. Eric Barnes; 2. Rod McDonald; 3. Mike Goben; 4. Joe Beal; 5. Richard Vela;

Heat #4: 1. Austin Blume; 2. Terry Rentfro; 3. Ray Cox Jr.; 4. Travis Denning; 5. Dustin Smith;

Semi #1: 1. Richard Vela; 2. Brandon Durbin; 3. Matt Stein; 4. Craig Crawford; 5. Jake Whittington;

Semi #2: 1. Jeff Larson; 2. Dustin Smith; 3. Chris Lawrence; 4. Charlie Mohr; 5. Jon Coombs;

Feature: 1. Matt Werner; 2. Eric Barnes; 3. Ryan Duhme; 4. Mike Garland; 5. Rod McDonald; 6. Austin Blume; 7. Jeff Larson; 8. Brandon Durbin; 9. Mike Goben; 10. Travis Denning; 11. Mitch Morris; 12. Ray Cox Jr.; 13. Charlie Mohr; 14. Craig Crawford; 15. Matt Stein; 16. Joe Beal; 20. Kyle Montgomery; 21. Bob Dominacki; 22. Terry Rentfro; 23. Timmy Current; 24. Jordan Hicks;

IMCA SportMod

Heat #1: 1. Barry Bates; 2. Tyler Soppe; 3. Logan Veloz; 4. Matt Fulton; 5. Brad Salisberry;

Heat #2: 1. Ryan Walker; 2. Ben Chapman; 3. Anthony Franklin; 4. Paul Howard; 5. Matt Speidel;

Heat #3: 1. Jarrett Franzen; 2. Perry Gellerstedt; 3. Kevin Goben; 4. Trey Grimm; 5. Randy Farrell;

Heat #4: 1. Jacob Arp; 2. Jeremy Gustaf; 3. Levi Heath; 4. Rayce Mullen; 5. Kevin Rasdon ;

Semi #1: 1. Nick Groth; 2. Brad Salisberry; 3. Rance Powell; 4. Randy Farrell; 5. Dakota Cole;

Semi #2: 1. Todd Dykema; 2. Matt Speidel; 3. Bryan Ritter; 4. Jacob Lenth; 5. Ron Schwartzkopf;

Feature: 1. Jeremy Gustaf; 2. Tyler Soppe; 3. Ben Chapman; 4. Logan Veloz; 5. Jacob Arp; 6. Jarrett Franzen; 7. Trey Grimm; 8. Levi Heath; 9. Dakota Cole; 10. Paul Howard; 11. Brad Salisberry; 12. Matt Speidel; 13. Nick Groth; 14. Kevin Goben; 15. Jacob Lenth; 16. Kevin Rasdon; 17. Perry Gellerstedt; 18. Anthony Franklin; 19. Ryan Walker; 20. Matt Fulton; 21. Barry Bates; 22. Todd Dykema; 23. Bryan Ritter; (1-DNS)

Street Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Jeff Struck Jr.; 2. Tony VonDresky; 3. Jake Lund; 4. Tom Riggs; 5. Frank Waters;

Heat #2: 1. Nick Hixson; 2. Jesse Owen; 3. Cary Brown; 4. Shawn McDermott; 5. Donnie Louck;

Feature: 1. Nick Hixson; 2. Jeff Struck Jr.; 3. Tony VonDresky; 4. Cary Brown; 5. Nick Claussen; 6. Frank Waters; 7. Jake Lund; 8. Rick Schriner; 9. Jesse Owen; 10. Gary Proehl; 11. Austin Riggs; 12. Shawn McDermott; 13. Tom Riggs; (1-DNS)

Sport Compacts

Heat #1: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Tim Sibley; 3. Jason Rhoads; 4. Scott Delles; 5. Tommy Skaggs;

Heat #2: 1. Todd Sibley; 2. Josh Riley; 3. Brandon Schneider; 4. Cody Montgomery; 5. Andrew Bolio;

Feature: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Josh Riley; 3. Tim Sibley; 4. Todd Sibley; 5. Brandon Schneider; 6. Jason Rhoads; 7. Tommy Skaggs; 8. Cody Montgomery; 9. Scott Delles; 10. Andrew Bolio; (1-DNS)

Article Credit: Mike McGuire

Submitted By: Derek Collum

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

May Races Update
Happy Fathers Day
Petersen Plumbing
QC Jeeps
Hoker Trucking
JRs Place
KOEHLER Electric
Eriksen Chevrolet
Craftsmen Utility Trailer
HD Equipment
C  J Trucking of Iowa
Lindquist Ford
Halabuilt Engines
Hawkins Construction and Trucking
Grask Truck Group
No Place Special
Pit Crew BBQ
Tyler Matzen